Edit Content

Patient Education

Patient Support Center

Product Guide


Continence Care Champions



Established in 2000 to recognize healthcare providers who excel in the area of diagnosis, treatment, and management, the Continence Care Champion award raises awareness and elevates the importance of addressing incontinence in clinical practice. This award recognizes an outstanding clinic or individual on the basis of contributions to research, clinical practice standards, and education in the field of incontinence.

For awards presented to members of the American Academy of Family Physicians, the process is open nationwide such that practitioners and patients alike may nominate a candidate who is subsequently chosen by a specially selected group from the NAFC Board of Directors. Otherwise, individuals are nominated by members of the society and representatives of NAFC’s Board of Directors then select an award recipient.

In 2009, the Continence Care Champion award was renamed the Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion Award in memory of Rodney Appell, MD.

Read about the most recent Continence Care Champions below.

Current Industry Council Members

  • 2000 John Delancey, MD
  • 2001 Linda Brubaker, MD
  • 2002 Donald Ostergard, MD
  • 2003 Peggy Norton, MD
  • 2004 Tom Benson, MD
  • 2005 Lewis Wall, MD, DPhil
  • 2006 Anne Weber, MD, MS
  • 2007 Kathryn Burgio, PhD
  • 2008 Holly E. Richter, PhD, MD
  • 2009 Matthew Barber, MD, MPH
  • 2010 Ingrid Nygaard, MD
  • 2011 Dee Fenner, MD
  • 2012 Deborah Myers, MD
  • 2013 Mickey Karram, MD
  • 2014 Rebecca G. Roger, MD
  • 2015 Mark Walters, MD
  • 2016 Anne Weber, MD
  • 2017 Cindy Amundson, MD
  • 2018 Steven W. Siegel, MD


  • 2002 Diane Newman, RNC, MSN, CRNP
  • 2003 Betsy Omeis, RN
  • 2004 Karen Sasso, MS, BS
  • 2005 Joyce Colling, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 2006 Cheryl LeCroy, MS, BS
  • 2007 Angela Joseph, MSN, RN, C, CURN
  • 2008 Shanna D. Atnip, MSN, WHNP-BC
  • 2009 Leslie Wooldridge, MSN, RNCS, GNP-BC
  • 2010 Francie Bernier,PhD, MSN, RNC
  • 2011 Tamara Dickinson, RN, CRN, CCCN, BCB-PMD
  • 2012 Margaret “Amy” Hull, RNC, MSN, WHCNP
  • 2013 Katharine O’Dell, PhD, CNM
  • 2014 Donna L. Thompson
  • 2015 Christine K. Bradway


  • 2001 Toni Miles, MD
  • 2005 John B. Murphy, MD
  • 2006 Matt Toren Rosenberg, MD
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop

    We use cookies to collect and analyze information related to the use and performance of our website in order to provide functionalities related to social networks, and to adequately improve and personalize the content and advertising on our website. More information